Scunthorpe Polytechnic Cycling Club started in the early 1920s under the name of Scunthorpe Wheelers.

Many of our club trophies still have this period engraved on them. In 1960 our current club name was born.

Reginald Pulling secured sponsorship in the late seventies with a former club and international rider, Jack Tighe, who is still a successful businessman in Lincolnshire.

Jack has always been involved with our club since it started, he is the current president of the club. We believe that we have been sponsored by Jack Tighe for period which is unmatched by any other sponsor in the country. During the 60’s and 70’s our club excelled at time trials, with notable riders Maurice Wright, Roger Francis, Stuart Whaley, competing at county & national level. A small track team of Steve Parsons, Willie Wilson, Steve Linguard and Martin Jones plus talented road man Ray Brown also achieved many notable results in the track and road scence of this period. An important member of our club during this period was Nev Atkinson who in was in charge of Sunday club runs and weekly training runs. Every local rider of note originated from his organised training runs. Nev who is now a member of the Scunthorpe RC, is still running Sunday club runs and competing in local time trials as a veteran cyclist. The club membership declined in the late 70’s and early 80’s with leading riders joining sponsored teams and others joining the reformed Scunthorpe Road Club. Reginald Pulling retired after 38 years as secretary in the early 80’s and sadly passed away in 1996. Local school children still compete every year at Quibell Park for the Reg Pulling trophy, a fitting tribute to the man who started the club. In 1984 Steve Parsons, who had been riding for the Dinnington RT, rejoined the club as secretary. New younger riders started to come through with notable names, Pat Tighe nephew of Jack, Nev Pearson, Paul Waterson, Tony Pearson, Tony Nash, Steve Frankish, Martin Pitchford, Mick Garratt and Elliott Smith (National Schoolboy track champion) and his sister Haley. All were regular winners in open events and county championships. Sadly Paul Waterson died in a tragic racing accident in 1985. Julian Ramsbottom rode for the club as a promising junior, and later with the Harrods Pro team which later collapsed. He notched up some prestigious wins as well as breaking a lot of our clubs time trial records.

Over the last 20 years our club has established itself as a strong track, road and time trial team. Notable riders being Steve Parsons, Anthony Pearson, Pat Tighe. Then later Rob Darley, Jason Benham, and Gary Lang. Who along with new recruits Chris Richardson and Paul Barber, formed the successful team pursuit squad which won the National Championship in 2000.

Riders have also won other national medals in a number of events. Neil Potter Master Sprint Champion, Jason Benham 800m and 8km Grass Championships. Mathew Wood & Ben Swift national medals in the Youth Track Champs.

Despite Quibell Park Track being out of action for 2003 the club continued to promote track racing on the grass track at the Winterton Show Ground with a National Grass Championship being held in 2003. In 2002 our club secured funding for the resurfacing of Quibell Park stadium. Evening track leagues run throughout the racing season and many of our current riders have been recruited from these events. Riders such as Jamie Rogers, Calum Rogers and David Hampshire are now continuing the track tradition of our club.

In 2009 Jamie Rogers, Tony Nash and Steve Parsons have also achieved considerable success in the National Track Championships. Jamie Rodgers and Steve Parsons achieved a notable silver medal in the National Derny championships .

More recently in the National Master Track Championships more gold medals have been won. Dave Park winning the distance and points race in the 50-55 age category in 2010 and Tony Nash wining the points race in the 45-50 age category in 2011.